The Journey To Screenwriting – Part Three


I was a Weekender and I loved it!

After six long years away from radio I was glad to have my foot back in the door and was gonna prove it with hard work and diligence. From 1999 to 2008, as an on-air talent, I went from AM 990 The Light to KJMS V101.1 to WHAL 95.7 Hallelujah FM.  I rose from a novice weekender to a top-rated afternoon personality in Memphis in less than a decade…and I loved the journey.

My exposure in radio afforded me the opportunity to meet people from all facets of entertainment, sports and media.  One such person, local promoter Julius Lewis would serve as a link to my screenwriting career.

In 2000, Julius struck up a conversation with me about my love of movies.  He shared he had a movie script he wanted me to critique.  My feedback that it was more stageplay than screenplay amazed him…turned out he had written it while promoting some national plays but wanted to now make it into a movie.  Wow!  After all those years away from my creativity,  I was now rocking the “mic” AND segueing to the big screen!

Life is truly amazing!

Leave a Reply

