With My Last Breath, I Protest


I Can’t Brea….

With my last breathe

I gasp

I cry out for sensibility

I gasp

I wail against injustice

I gasp

I whimper goodbye to loved ones

I Can’t Brea….

With my last breathe

I gasp

I cry out for sensibility

I gasp

I wail against injustice

I gasp

I whimper goodbye to loved ones

I gasp

I call upon my ancestors

I gasp

I see the throng of those killed because of their dark hue

I gasp.

I don’t breathe.

Check my pulse.

I don’t breathe.

I slip into eternity where

I stand now with those a racist system has systemically killed for centuries

And we breathe

New life into a revolution that may or may not be televised

And we breathe

New zeal into a race haunted by hatred without and within

And we breathe

New fire into a volcano brewing and whose fire will never be quenched

And as we breathe

You choke on our breath.

Yes We Breathe.

– CBTaylor

01/17/2015

Leave a Reply

